Develop – End of Day 1

Posted on 21 July, 2011

0


Had a really interesting day yesterday at Develop 2011 in Brighton. Started the day with a keynote by Media Molecule, followed by a very interesting talk about the graphics pipeline on the Sony Vita, and my first eyes on what I believe will be a huge success for Sony.

After lunch I attended another round of interesting talks, including the art of Fable, the AI of Total War and the design and narrative of Brink. Compelling stuff, inspiring me to seek out ways of getting my hands dirty on the design of something substantial and interesting! Loads of notes from day one, and I’ll cover all sessions one by one when I get the time.

Develop Notes Day 1

Develop Notes Day 1

I also caught up with a number of people from the UK industry. Chatted with Will from Unity who we’re currently working with to provide a high res trailer of our first Unity game, Boccia. Also met up with Paul Taylor from Mode 7 Games. I’m a big fan of their recent release Frozen Synapse (if you don’t own, grab it now on Steam), a small team development using Torque, reminding me a lot of Laser Squad Nemesis. Frozen Synapse is a quality game and hopefully it will help Mode 7 secure a positive future for their studio.

So, a busy day one, if I can wake myself up I’ll head out for today’s Indie Develop.

